Stabat Mater

New date of the concert 2. 4. 2020

Buy a ticket
Monday 05.10.2020 | 19:30 Sts. Simon and Jude Church
Dušní/U Milosrdných, Praha 1 - Staré Město


Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741)
Sonata „Al Santo Sepolcro“ in E flat major, RV 130


Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710–1736)
Duetto „Quam sordet mihi terra“
(modern-day premiere)


Pierre-Gabriel Buffardin (ca 1690–1768)
Concerto in E minor


Alessandro Scarlatti (1660–1725)
Stabat Mater in C minor for soprano, alto and orchestra


Estimated end of the concert at 9.15 pm.


The Lent concert will present the works of two giants of the Neapolitan School of opera, Alessandro Scarlatti and Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, featuring the soloists Hana Blažíková and Markéta Cukrová in what will be a truly unique musical experience.


The impressive Stabat Mater by Alessandro Scarlatti is notable for its extraordinarily rich musical textures, stirring and dramatic passages and visceral laments. The meditative duetto Quam sordet mihi terra by Giovanni Battista Pergolesi will receive its modern-day premiere at the concert. The Sonata Al Santo Sepolcro by Antonio Vivaldi is an exceptional composition, akin in its musical form to the preludes to the rites carried out at the Holy Sepulchre on Good Friday. The Flute Concerto in E Minor by the Southern French composer Pierre-Gabriel Buffardin demonstrates the full range of mastery on the instrument and is notable for the influence of Vivaldi. As a flute virtuoso Buffardin spent almost his entire musical career in Germanic countries and, for a short time, he was even flute teacher to the celebrated Johann Joachim Quantz.


Lenka Torgersen, Vojtěch Jakl, Jan Hádek, Vojtěch Semerád, Petra Ščevková, Tereza Horáková – Baroque violin
Andreas Torgersen – Baroque viola
Hana Fleková – Baroque cello
Jana Semerádová – flauto traverso
Ondřej Balcar – double bass
Jan Krejča – theorbo
Sebastian Knebel – harpsichord


Sts. Simon and Jude Church

Dušní/U Milosrdných, Praha 1 - Staré Město

Show on map