Amore Divino

Sacred cantatas and arias

Thursday 20. 04. 2023 | 19.00 Lobkowicz Palace, Imperial Hall
Jiřská 3/1, Praha 1, 110 00
with intermission


Georg Friedrich Händel (1685–1759)

Suita in B flat major, HWV 354

(from the opera Florindo)


Pure del cielo intelligenze eterne
& Tu del ciel ministro eletto

(from the oratorio Il Trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno, HWV 46a)


Georg Philipp Telemann (1681–1767)

Suite „Les Nations“, TWV 55:B5


Cantata „Zerknirsche du mein blödes Herze“, TWV 1:1727b




Reinhard Keiser (1674–1739)

Die Liebe bleibt ein süsses Wesen

(from the cantata Kayserliche Friedens-Post, 1715)


Georg Philipp Telemann

Concert in D major, TWV 52:D2


Christoph Graupner (1683–1760)

Cantata „Muss ich denn noch ferner leiden“, GWV 1145/16


The opening concert of the 23rd edition of the Baroque Soirées is dedicated to composers of great renown, in particular Georg Philipp Telemann, one of the most prolific composers not only of the Baroque era; he incorporated various musical genres and forms in his works and also experimented with national styles. His rich career culminated in Hamburg as music director of five major churches, and, for a time, also as director of the Hamburg Opera. All of the composers included in this programme were connected to the Hamburg Opera in some way during their careers. From the master of unmistakable melodies, George Frideric Handel, to his contemporary, the turbulent Reinhard Keiser, and Christoph Graupner, who was briefly harpsichordist in the local orchestra and also contributed a few pieces to its repertoire. The concert programme will introduce us to their work, which, although inspired by opera, was intended for the church and concert stage. The soprano Elionor Martinez Lara and the Collegium Marianum ensemble with Jana Semerádová will perform bravura arias and cantatas by true masters of Baroque music. And we will also encounter Turks and Portuguese, as Telemann himself imagined their national musical styles...


Jana Semerádová – flauto traverso
Lenka Torgersen – Baroque violin
Magdalena Malá – Baroque violin
Andreas Torgersen – Baroque viola
Hana Fleková – Baroque cello
Jan Krejča – theorbo
Ján Prievozník – double bass
Sebastian Knebel – harpsichord


Lobkowicz Palace, Imperial Hall

Jiřská 3/1, Praha 1, 110 00

Show on map

Partners of the concert

With the kind support of the House of Lobkowicz.