Caravaggio’s Journey

A Musical Journey from Milan to Naples

Friday 22. 11. 2019 | 19.30 Dominican Monastery
Jilská 5, Praha 1, 110 00


Milan 1584–1591
Claudio Monteverdi (1567–1643)
Non si levava ancor
Gioseppe Caimo (ca 1545 – 1584)
Ove, pazzo che sei
Vincenzo Ruffo (ca 1508 – 1587)
Misero me
Rome 1592–1606
Luca Marenzio (1554–1599)
O Fortuna volubile e leggiera
Dolorosi martir
Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (ca 1525 – 1594)
Heu mihi Domine
Naples 1606–1607
Sigismondo d’India (ca 1525 – 1594)
Lauda anima mea
Pomponio Nenna (1556–1608)
O Domine Jesu Christe
Malta 1607–1608
Giovanni de Macque (1548/1550 – 1614)
Morirò di dolor
Sicíle 1608–1609
Pietro Vinci (ca 1525 – 1584)
Virgo Immaculata
Naples 1609–1610
Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa (1566–1613)
Tradiderunt me
Illumina nos a 7
Concert without an intermission. Estimated end at 8:45 pm.


The vocal program of Cappella Mariana traces the artistic and life journey of one of one of the foremost exponents of mannerism in art, Caravaggio, who influenced the entire Baroque aesthetic with his application of the chiaroscuro technique. The program will take the listeners on tour of Italian composers connected with the places where Caravaggio was active throughout his career. It comprises masterpieces of Renaissance polyphony from the turn of the 17th century when the music of a new (Baroque) era was being born in contrast to the complex polyphonic tradition.


Hana Blažíková – soprano
Barbora Kabátková – soprano
Daniela Čermáková – alt
Vojtěch Semerád – tenor
Tomáš Lajtkep – tenor
Martin Schicketanz – baritone
Jaromír Nosek – bass


Dominican Monastery

Jilská 5, Praha 1, 110 00

Show on map

Partners of the concert

The concert is kindly supported by the Dominican Monastery of St George Prague.