Italian inspirations
A. Corelli, G. Ph. Telemann

Thursday 04. 05. 2023 | 19.00 Břevnov Monastery, Theresian Hall
Markétská 1, Praha 6
with intermission


Georg Philipp Telemann (1681–1767)
Triosonata No. 3, TWV:h3
(Sonates Corellisantes)


Arcangelo Corelli (1653–1713)
Triosonata in E minor No. 4., Op. 2


Georg Philipp Telemann
Triosonata No. 6, TWV 42:D8
(Sonates Corellisantes)




Georg Philipp Telemann
Flute concerto in G major, TWV 51:AnhG1


Arcangelo Corelli
Sonata in D major No. 1, Op. 5


Ciaconna in G major No. 12, Op. 2


This year marks the 370th anniversary of the birth and the 310th anniversary of the death of one of the most influential musicians of the Baroque era, Arcangelo Corelli. Although his work includes “only” six collections of solo and trio sonatas and concertos, his influence on his contemporaries and subsequent generations of musicians across Europe was immense. During his lifetime, Corelli became known as an outstanding violinist and meticulous concert master who pushed violin technique and musical interaction among ensemble members to a significantly higher level. He was the first composer to focus exclusively on instrumental music and he gained widespread recognition and fame. Corellli inspired his contemporaries and followers by perfecting the concerto grosso and trio sonata forms. He had numerous admirers in the following generations of composers, including Georg Philipp Telemann, who named one of his collections of trio sonatas after the famous master. The concert programme offers works by both greats, who also represent two landmarks of Baroque music – the music of the emerging High Baroque in the work of Corelli, and the music of Telemann, imbued with the galant style, which paves the way for the advent of Classicism. You can (as always) look forward to an exact and at the same time playful performance by the Collegium Marianum ensemble under the direction of Jana Semerádová.


Jana Semerádová – flauto traverso
Lenka Torgersen – Baroque violin
Malgorzata Malke – Baroque violin
Hana Fleková – viola da gamba
Jan Krejča – theorbo
Filip Hrubý – harpsichord


Břevnov Monastery, Theresian Hall

Markétská 1, Praha 6

Show on map

Partners of the concert

With the kind support of the Municipal district of Prague 6.