Gloires Romaines

Arias, duets and dance suites from operas by G. F. Handel and J.-Ph. Rameau

Thursday 20. 06. 2024 | 19.00 Strahov Monastery, Summer Refectory
Strahovské nádvoří 1/132, Praha 1
With intermission


Georg Friedrich Händel (1685–1759)
Ouverture from Alessandro Severo, HWV A13
Duet „Tra amplessi innocenti“
from Cecilia, volgi un sguardo, HWV 89
Aria „Quando e parto dell᾿affetto“
and „D᾿amor fu consiglio“
from La Resurrezione, HWV 47
Michele Mascitti (1663/64–1760)
Concerto grosso No. 4, Op. 7
Georg Friedrich Händel
Aria „Da tempeste il legno infranto“
from Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17
Duet „Caro autor di mia doglia“, HWV 182a
Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683–1764)
Arias and dances from Le Temple de la Gloire, RTC 59
Duet „Les flots les ont punis“ from Naїs, RTC 49
Arias, duets and dances from Dardanus, RTC 35


Ancient Rome was a bottomless well of inspiration for the creators of Baroque opera, whether themes were drawn from the fates of historical rulers or from the mythological stories in which the Romans had believed. Baroque Rome then attracted musicians from various parts of Europe who were eager to get acquainted with the secrets of Italian music. Among them was Georg Frideric Handel, who spent more than two years in Rome on his Italian study tour and began a successful career there as a composer of Italian vocal music. At Easter 1708, his new oratorio La Resurrezione was performed there, directly under the baton of the famous Corelli. In his later works, especially for London theatres, Handel drew heavily on his personal experience of Italian music and can rightly be called one of the most important composers of Italian opera seria. Arias and duets from his operas will be complemented by the works of an equally successful opera composer, this time in a French environment, Jean-Philippe Rameau, who briefly lived in Italy in his youth. He became acquainted with Italian music mainly in his native France, where one of its promoters was the Neapolitan Michele Mascitti.
This colourful Italian-French programme will be presented by Chantal Santon Jeffery and Vojtěch Semerád, accompanied by the Collegium Marianum ensemble under the direction of Jana Semerádová.


Jana Semerádová – flauto traverso, flauto dolce
Lenka Torgersen – Baroque violin
Małgorzata Malke – Baroque violin
Andreas Torgersen – Baroque viola
Hana Fleková – Baroque cello
Anna Špelinová – flauto traverso, recorder
Jan Krejča – theorbo
Luděk Braný – double bass
Filip Hrubý – harpsichord


Strahov Monastery, Summer Refectory

Strahovské nádvoří 1/132, Praha 1

Show on map

Partners of the concert

With the kind support of the Royal Canonry of Premonstratensians at Strahov and the French Institute in Prague.