Il Pianto Amoroso

Arias from oratorios by A. Caldara and A. Stradella & cantata L᾿Orfeo by A. Scarlatti

Thursday 18. 04. 2024 | 19.00 Lobkowicz Palace, Imperial Hall
Jiřská 3/1, Praha 1, 110 00
with intermission


Bernardo Pasquini (1637–1710)
Sinfonia from oratorio Il Martirio dei santi Vito, Modesto e Crescenzia
Alessandro Stradella (1643–1682)
Aria „Queste lagrime“ from oratorio San Giovanni Battista
Alessandro Scarlatti (1660–1725)
Sinfonia La Geniale
Antonio Caldara (1670–1736)
Aria „Pompe inutili“ from oratorio Maddalena ai piedi di Cristo
Francesco Gasparini (1668–1727)
Sinfonia a tre
Alesandro Scarlatti
Aria „Mi rivedi, o selva ombrosa“ from opera Griselda
Nicolo Porpora (1686–1768)
Flute concerto in D major
Alesandro Scarlatti
Cantata L᾿Orfeo, H. 173


The first concert of the 24th edition of the Baroque Soirées will take the audience to the city of cities, Rome, which experienced an unprecedented expansion in the field of music in the last third of the 17th century and the beginning of the 18th century. Unlike other Italian music centres, publicly accessible opera was not the main activity there and opera productions were even repeatedly banned. Hence, instead of operas, cantatas, serenatas and oratorios prevailed. Moreover, musical life took place mainly in the palaces of prominent noblemen and church dignitaries. In the second half of the 17th century, musicians from all over Italy were attracted to Rome by the opportunities in the papal city. As early as 1650, Bernardo Pasquini arrived there, followed by Alessandro Scarlatti in 1672. At the same time, Alessandro Stradella, who came from Tuscany, was enjoying success as a composer there. In 1709, they were joined by the Banat-born Antonio Caldara. All of these composers contributed to the development of the oratorio, a musical form that originated in Roman temple practice.
The concert will feature arias from oratorios and operas written for or performed in Rome, sung by the incomparable Hana Blažíková accompanied by the Collegium Marianum ensemble under the direction of Jana Semerádová. For this evening, the Lobkowicz Palace venue will be transformed into one of the many Roman palaces through which the music of the Baroque masters resounded.


Jana Semerádová – flauto traverso
Stefano Barneschi – Baroque violin
Magdalena Malá – Baroque violin
Andreas Torgersen – Baroque viola
Hana Fleková – Baroque cello
Jan Krejča – theorbo
Luděk Braný – double bass
Filip Hrubý – organ, harpsichord


Lobkowicz Palace, Imperial Hall

Jiřská 3/1, Praha 1, 110 00

Show on map

Partners of the concert

With the kind support of The House of Lobkowicz.