Lux aeterna

Hommage à Josquin des Prez

Thursday 07. 10. 2021 | 19.30 Convent of St. Agnes of Bohemia
Anežská 12, Praha 1, 110 00
Without intermission


Josquin Desprez (ca 1450/55 – 1521)
Nymphes des bois
Domine, non secundum peccata nostra

Faulte d´argent

Nymphes, nappés

Proch dolor


Jean Richafort (ca 1480 – ca 1550)
Requiem in memoriam Josquin Desprez


For the opening concert of the autumn series, Cappella Mariana will fill the vaults with music at the Church of St. Salvator in the Convent of St. Agnes. The concert programme focuses on Josquin des Prez and his most talented student, Jean Richafort. The works of Josquin des Prez masterfully portray the timelessness and beauty of the musical legacy of Franco-Flemish polyphony. Jean Richafort worked in the royal chapel at the court of Louis XIII and then in the service of Queen Mary of Hungary in Brussels. After the death of his teacher, he composed a requiem in tribute to the master of Renaissance polyphony. This composition represents a unique work of translucent beauty.


Hana Blažíková, Barbora Kabátková – soprano
Daniela Čermáková – alto
Vojtěch Semerád, Tomáš Lajtkep, Ondřej Holub – tenor
Marek Šulc – baritone
Jaromír Nosek – bass


Convent of St. Agnes of Bohemia

Anežská 12, Praha 1, 110 00

Show on map

Partners of the concert

Concert is organized in collaboration with the National Gallery in Prague.